My First TT

I have been going to the North West 200 and Ulster Grand Prix since I was very young but this year I got to experience the Isle of Man TT for the very first time. For years I have enjoyed watching the TT highlights on tv but never actually thought I would enjoy being there as I wasnt sure how exciting the time trial aspect would be compared to the mass start racing I had been used to how wrong I was.

dsc-5164_orig

Starting on the Monday of race week I arrived on the Island just after the first Supersport race had finished but in time to catch the Superstock race, I grabbed a taxi from the airport and headed straight to Braddan Bridge where my mate was already waiting for me to arrive on the way the taxi driver was asking had I been before and after I told him no he was explaining some cool places to watch from if I needed them and was that was my first experience of how during the TT the whole island buys into the racing and embraces it and the people coming to watch.

dsc-5479_orig

Onto the actual race and for my very first live TT race I was treated to an absolute classic with Peter Hickman, Dean Harrison and Michael Dunlop all battling it out for the win in a titanic battle that lasted all of the 4 laps. Eventually it was Hickman who took the win setting a new lap record in the process and the atmosphere when his time was announced over the radio was amazing with people standing and applauding I had never witnessed anything like this at a road race before.

dsc-5736_orig

On the Tuesday we were lucky enough to be invited along to an event with Peter Hickman to announce the release of his new replica Trooper beer helmet we got to chat with him a bit and they did a Q and A with him as well as got photos with Trooper bike itself, Also at the event doing Q and A’s were John McGuinness and Dean Harrison it was a very cool experience.  We also were able to take a walk around the paddock at somewhere like the North West this would cost about £10  but here it was free all week to have a wander about look at the bikes being worked on for a bike nerd like me it was awesome.

dsc-5912_orig

On the Wednesday we headed up the mountain on the tram to catch the second Supersport race of the week which was won by Dean Harrison who had a fantastic week and really announced himself as one of the top men at the TT for years to come.

If there is a more spectacular location to watch motorbike racing please show me cause up there I was in heaven it was a fast flowing strip of tarmac surrounded by superb viewing on all sides. We were up there for most of the day watching the Supersport race,TT Zero race,Sidecar practice and Superbike practice for me if I was to draw up a perfect day this would probably be it.

dsc-6637_orig

The atmosphere around the Island all week had been fantastic but on Senior day there is something special in the air we got into our spot around St Ninian’s and waited for the big race to start.

Before the Senior race itself we enjoyed the Birchall brothers setting another sidecar record on their way to another TT win but honestly that was merely the appetiser for the main event and what we got was an absolute master class in road racing from Peter Hickman and Dean Harrison with Harrison leading the race for 5 laps only for Hickman to set a 135mph average lap time becoming the fastest ever road racer and take the win on the final lap.

mountain-marker_orig

The racing mixed with the weather and all the other activities the island puts on during the race week from stunt shows to the red arrows made my first TT experience one I will never forget before going I thought it would be a one time thing but honestly I am already looking at going next year, If you are a bike fan or a motorsport fan in general I would encourage you to experience it for yourself there is nothing else in the world like it.

Thanks to @photography_rjd for the photos and the company for the week and for talking me into going.

Just a select few of Ryan’s photos from the week check out the rest on his site all available for purchase ( https://rjd-photography.weebly.com/isle-of-man-tt.html )

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “My First TT

  1. Sound like an amazing experience. It’s certainly on my list of things to do. And great photos – especially the sign with the blur of rider going fast.

    Like

Leave a comment